Apple’s iTunes accounts for whopping 75% of global digital music market … stunning

iTunes GraphAccording to Apple Insider, Apple’s iTunes store accounts for 75% of the global digital music market.  The number is big, very big.

According to the report, the average iTunes user spends about $12 per year on music and with 575 million active users, Apple’s annual revenue hits $6.9 billion.

That suggests Apple’s $6.9 billion account for about 75 percent of the $9.3 billion global digital music market. The remaining slice of the pie is divvied up to streaming music services like Pandora and retailers like Amazon – not much else to go around, thus everyone’s focus is on iTunes.

This is another reason why we here at Triple Pop are not too excited about radio streaming and subscription based music distribution services for the industry – so little revenue for the industry.  Less revenue = less money for musicians.  Period.

Kacey Musgraves’ Early Acoustic Song Recordings Released Today

Triple Pop SinglesTriple Pop has announced that a two (2) song digital Digital EP featuring songs from Academy of Country Music nominee Kacey Musgraves is available online at the iTunes Store.

Recorded over five years ago in 2008, the exclusive EP features Kacey Musgraves performing acoustic guitar cover versions of the songs “See You Again” and OneRepublic’s “Apologize,” which the label had thought been lost to the sands of time due to a computer hard drive failure.

The songs were recorded at Brain Machine Recording Studios in Austin, Texas when Ms. Musgraves first got out of high school.

“They’re just acoustic songs, but they showcase Kacey’s developing performing talent, which has now made her famous.  She took these songs and made them her own,” says Triple Pop owner, Monte Robison, who produced the songs.

Ms. Musgraves’ hit Billboard single “Merry Go ‘Round” has been certified RIAA Gold and her debut  major label album, Same Trailer Different Park, debuted at #2 in the Billboard Top 100 albums.

Kacey Musgraves was nominated for multiple Academy of Country Music Awards, including “Vocalist of the Year’, alongside Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood.

Listen for free to the full stream of “Apologize” on Soundcloud.

Apple’s iTunes has now sold 25 billion songs

iTunesApple has reported that its iTunes retail store has now sold more than 25 billion download songs (25,000,000,000)!  The 25 billionth song “Monkey Drums” (Goksel Vancin remix) by Chase Buch was purchased by Phillip Lupke in Germany, who will receive a $10,000 Euro iTunes Gift card.

iTunes is the number one retailer of music worldwide and averages 15,000 songs downloaded every minute.  It’s been an astonishing rise to see a platform reach such worldwide scale … which didn’t even exist ten years ago!

Triple Pop is a proud iTunes authorized Content Distributor.  We were one of the very first indie labels to  sign a digital distribution contract with Apple way back in 2006.  We were thankful that such a great company would choose to give our tiny operation such an opportunity.  God Bless Steve Jobs!

AGK and Kris Farrow finish 2012!

AGKThe Acoustic Guitar Karaoke series from musician KRIS FARROW finished 2012 with Volumes 27 and 28 … wow!

We’ve been releasing acoustic guitar songs now for over four years … and counting.  We’re planning even more volumes in 2013, so be on the look out.

Click link here to Kris’ catalogue of 300+ tracks on iTunes.

Also, check out Kris Farrow’s website and see him perform live on tour as guitarist with the THE ZANE WILLIAMS BAND in 2013.

We appreciate all your support and thanks for checking us out. We wish everyone much success in 2013!


AGK Vol. 26 now on iTunes

2012 has arrived, whew!  Where did all the time ago?

Kris Farrow recently released a new volume of Acoustic Guitar Karaoke #26 on iTunes. It’s specially priced at only $3.99 for five new tracks.

This latest five-track set features I Won’t Give Up on You (Jason Mraz), Mean and Safe & Sound (Taylor Swift), Over You (Miranda Lambert) and Somebody That I Used to Know (Gotye).

When you get a chance, head on over to iTunes @ and check it out.  Also, check out AGK Vols. 23-25 which were released late last year.

Kris has now released over three-hundred (300+) AGK tracks, something for everyone!

Former Triple Pop artist Kacey Musgraves signs to Lost Highway/Universal

Congratulations to Kacey Musgraves on signing a major label record deal with Lost Highway/Mercury Records in Nashville, home to Miranda Lambert, Ryan Adams, Van Morrison and Lucinda Williams, just to name a few.  Kacey also co-wrote one of Miranda Lambert’s latest songs “Mama’s Broken Heart.”

Check out her website here.  Her new single “Merry Go ‘Round” is fantastic.  She’s got an amazing future ahead in the music business, we know it.

Triple Pop was fortunate enough to discover Kacey way back in 2008 – she recorded a track for us entitled “See You Again” which you can find on iTunes on our Stars of Montana compilation.

AGK #22 now on iTunes

2011 has arrived … and Kris Farrow recently released a new volume of Acoustic Guitar Karaoke #22.  It’s specially priced at only $2.99 for five new tracks.

This latest five-track set features Give in To Me (Garett Hedlund, Leighton Meester) from the Country Strong soundtrack, Marry Me (Train), Only Prettier (Miranda Lambert), Are You Gonna Kiss Me or Not (Thompson Square) and Rhythm of Love (Plain White T’s).  When you get a chance, head on over to  iTunes and give them a listen for yourself.

Kris has now released over two-hundred and seventy (270) AGK tracks on iTunes — we’re sure there is going to be some others you’re gonna love, too.   Thanks again for your support.

AGK. Vol. 17 now on iTunes

AGK 17

AGK 17

Kris Farrow and Triple Pop took some time off for the spring to recharge our batteries – we hope you had a wonderful spring break, too.  But we’re now back in May with the latest volume of Acoustic Guitar Karaoke, Vol. 17.

This latest volume from Kris Farrow features a diverse collection of songs including several from the rock genre such as Just Breathe (Pearl Jam), Drops of Jupiter (Train) and Breakeven (The Script). 

AGK 17 also features When I Look at You (Miley Cyrus), You and Your Heart (Jack Johnson), Kissin U (Miranda Cosgrove), One Less Lonely Girl (Justin Bieber), The House That Built Me (Miranda Lambert), Live Like We’re Dying (Kris Allen) and Temporary Home (Carrie Underwood).

The full album of AGK 17 is available for only $5.99 on iTunes.  Thanks for your support.